‘Cuckoo’ – Episode 1.1

Starring The Inbetweeners‘ Greg Davies (Mr. Gilbert) and Saturday Night Live‘s Andy Samberg, Cuckoo launched on Tuesday night on BBC3 and smashed the record for the most-watched launch of a comedy – which was set only last month by Jack Whitehall’s sitcom Bad Education.

‘SOMETHING MISSING’

So, do the successful ratings necessarily mean this show is worth a watch? I would have to say no.

I don’t know why, but there was just something missing from Cuckoo. I mean, it wasn’t laughs because, although few and far between, there were some good ones, but there was something not there. It appeared to lack the wit and possibly warmth which I anticipated when I sat down to watch it.

LOST FOR WORDS

I watched Cuckoo with my dad – both of us huge fans of Greg Davies and comedy in general – but when the credits rolled after the thirty minutes, we looked at each other and tried to find something to say in summary. “It was good, but not as good as I expected,” I offered – and my dad agreed.

STRONG CAST

There’s a certain expectation with a show like this, with a recognisable cast. Greg Davies is doing so well at the moment, having left The Inbetweeners and launching his stand-up career properly, which has led to him popping up on shows like Live At The Apollo and being pretty much a regular on Mock the Week. I must confess, I’m not as knowledgeable about Andy Samberg but a seven-year stint on Saturday Night Live in America doesn’t just come to anyone, so it’s fair to say that he is very successful, too (and well known to most people except me, it would appear!)

The script didn’t do the stars justice, however. Whereas I wasn’t expecting the fast-pace we’re accustomed to with Not Going Out, I did imagine there would be some sort of consistency with the gag-rate. Alas, there wasn’t.

 

I hope Cuckoo grows on me because there is something there – without a doubt. At the moment, though, I’m feeling a little disheartened by the show.

 

To let me know what you think of any of my comments, or just to share your views on anything about the world of TV, drop a comment on this post or tweet me – @UKTVReviewer

Also, keep up-to-date with the latest TV news, reviews and interviews at www.thecustardtv.com, where some of my articles will also appear.

Leave a comment