‘Britain’s Got Talent’ 2014 – Final Review

With more talent than we’ve seen in a long time and more camp than you can shake a feather boa at, the Final of the eighth series of Britain’s Got Talent arrived tonight and saw musical theatre act, Collabro be crowned the winners. Here are my thoughts on the acts we saw, in ascending order of success.

Yanis Marshall, Arnaud and MehdiYanis Marshall, Arnaud and Mehdi

This trio of high-heels-donning dancers were never going to win, were they? They just had too much  competition. Talent, they had. A hope in hell, they did not. Still, at least they can say that they were the first act ever to be buzzed in the Final – and by Simon to boot!

The Addict InitiativeThe Addict Initiative

I love The Addict Initiative’s ingenuity, blending stunning dance with a recognisable fairytale narrative. I don’t quite know where they can go from here – there certainly isn’t a platform out there for an act like themselves but I hope that they do well, no matter what they do.

Paddy & NicoPaddy & Nico  

I was really surprised that Paddy and Nico didn’t do better tonight! They of course had the backing of Amanda but also seemed to be loved by the public. Perhaps they were just unlucky to be in a show with so many other talented performers – as it certainly wasn’t a lack of talent that let them down!

Lettice Rowbotham 

I adore Lettice! I want to be her best friend! Seriously, though, her personality isLettice Rowbotham just a small part of her act, as her violin-playing is exceptional. I loved her singing, too, although it was a shame that we only got a little burst of it – it seemed a bit out of place, really. I think it would have made much more sense for her to sing the ‘Wake me up inside’ line, rather than simply leaving a gap. She’s still an exceptional talent, though, and I really do hope that she does well in the future.

Jon CleggJon Clegg 

Thank God Jon Clegg was given the Wildcard! He is such a talented impressionist; there isn’t one of his voices that isn’t absolutely spot on and it’s a shame that he didn’t win. That’s 50p that I’ll never see again! I’ve little doubt that Jon will do well – we’ll probably see him popping up on some show or another in due course.

James Smith 

I love James! His charisma shines in his performances, he has such charm andJames Smith is not bad looking either. I’m sure he’ll have had the teenage girls of the national fawning over him tonight. Oh, and his voice is amazing too – I mustn’t forget about his voice. I just hope my boyfriend isn’t reading this review, else I’m going to be in a bit of trouble…

Darcy Oake 

Darcy’s an amazing illusionist – probably one of the best we’ve Darcy Oakeever seen on Britain’s Got Talent. I have to be honest, I thought that his audition and semi-final performances were much better and more impressive than tonight’s; the fact that ITV were allowing such a trick to be broadcast in a live pre-watershed slot removed the danger of him being seriously injured somewhat. I’m sure this show will have given him the platform to be recognised and celebrated across the world – not just in his native Canada.

Jack Pack 

Whether or not they actually stole MichaelJack Pack Buble’s crown, as Amanda claimed they did, I’m not sure but one thing’s for certain: they are brilliant! Not only do they look great, they sound it too. I said it when I reviewed their semi-final performance and I’ll say it again: they are a true breath of fresh air and I’m sure Simon will snap them up straight away.

Bars & Melody 

There’s no doubt that these youngBars & Melody singers/songwriters are talented, but I just can’t get over their sycophancy. Last week, they made a huge deal of telling Alesha that she looks beautiful. On This Morning on Thursday, they told Holly Willoughby the same – and had no qualms about stressing the point. A lot. Then tonight, when Simon said that he hoped that his son, Eric, grows up to be like them. Now, to that lovely comment a simple ‘Thank you’ would have sufficed but instead, Leondre (the youngest of the two) gushed that he hopes that he turns out like Simon when he’s older. Don’t get me wrong: I know that that’s better than them being miserable, unappreciative and insincere but…oh, it was all just a bit too much, in my opinion.

Lucy KayLucy Kay 

Isn’t Lucy’s voice just amazing? I’m so pleased that people managed to see past the “sob story” and recognise that Lucy is very, very talented. She more than warranted second place – no doubt we’ll see her topping the classical charts later this year. Watch out, Katherine Jenkins: you have stiff competition.

Collabro

If only some bitter madwoman hadCollabro started chucking eggs at Simon Cowell during  Collabro’s slot tonight, we’d have had a truly traditional Britain’s Got Talent performance! I was very surprised that Collabro won – yes, they have an abundance of talent and are incredibly popular and likeable but I thought that Bars & Melody, James Smith or even Jon might have just pipped them to the post. I am of course very pleased for them, though, and can’t wait to see where they go from here. Worthy winners!

 All images thanks to ITV, ©Thames TV/SyCo

Britain’s Got Talent will of course be back in 2015

If you still need your BGT fix, though, Stephen Mulhern looks back at the past seven years of auditionees in Britain’s Got More Talent Best & Worst on Monday at 8:00pm on ITV2

What did you think of tonight’s Britain’s Got Talent Final? Do you agree or disagree with my review or the judges? Feel free to comment below or tweet me about this or any other TV show –@UKTVReviewer

Leave a Reply

