‘Britain’s Got Talent’ 2014 – Semi-Final 3 Review

In possibly the campest, most bizarre Britain’s Got Talent Semi-Final in the show’s seven year history, we were treated (well…) to an array of acts. Here are my thoughts on what we witnessed…

Crazy Rouge

Burlesque groups on Britain’s Got Talent all too often fall into the trap of providing entertainment only for the dads but tonight, Crazy Rouge gave something for everyone – the guys, girls and gays of the nation. I imagine this would look great in a pub or club but on the BGT stage, it was somewhat underwhelming, unfortunately.

Ellis Chick

It’s great to see young performers with confidence but Ellis Chick has it in excess. Granted, he has a great voice and stage presence and seems very likeable but I do worry that he’s in danger of crossing the line between confidence and cockiness. I really wasn’t sure whether or not he’d be voted through to the Final, and I hope that the fact that he didn’t make it hasn’t dashed his hopes of a future in singing.

Sam Jones

Well the judges said it all where Sam was concerned: the material was not as good as it was in his initial audition and he really needed to work on his enunciation. The ending was also particularly poor; Sam’s audition built up, with his cries of ‘Stop it!’ eventually bringing it to a crescendo and causing a satisfying ending, but tonight is just tailed off. Perhaps if he’d had a huge ending, we’d have forgiven what we’d seen before and been left with an overall good impression of him. Alas, however, that was not the case.

Reaformed

When Alesha chose Reaformed as her Golden Buzzer act, I was a bit confused; they just didn’t really stand out to me, so I didn’t quite understand what she had seen in them. However, tonight they really proved themselves to be worthy contenders in the competition. When I saw them in the Semi-Final, I felt as if I was watching an established girl group perform! I really hope that they have a great career ahead of them.

Brian Chan

God, that was terrible! I’ve never understood the whole thing of experimental fashion and Brian’s painting on the wall just made it all the more puzzling. I mean, what was the point? Why was he put through? Sorry, not for me.

Cartel

I don’t know what on earth Alesha and Simon are talking about! Jamie’s place in the group is as valid as any of the other members. All of them are incredible movers, the surprise of Jamie’s return to the group worked brilliantly and, just like The Addict Initiative last night, they stood out from the crowd of other dance groups. It’s a true shame that they didn’t make it through to the Final – so near and yet so far, eh?

Kitty and Rosie

I really enjoyed this mother-and-daughter duo’s first audition but tonight, although they sang as well as expected, I felt like I’d seen it all before. Simon hit the nail on the head when he said that it was like a karaoke performance on a hen night – which isn’t to say that it was bad, but it was just a bit disorganised.

Lucy Kay

She is and the song was beautiful! Even Simon sounded choked when he gave his critique. She has an exceptional talent and I wasn’t surprised in the slightest that she made it through to the Final. I can’t wait to find out what she’ll wow us with a week on Saturday!

Yanis Marshall, Arnaud and Mehdi

These men are hugely talented – they’re fantastic dancers anyway, but the fact that they do it in (very) high heels is incredible! It’s just a shame that I couldn’t hear the music over the sound of Putin spinning in his grave. What’s that? He isn’t dead? Oh well, we live in hope.

The acts taking to the stage tomorrow night are:

Dancers, Innova Irish Dance Company

Singer, Eva Iglesias

Variety act, Pyroterra

Singers, Kieran & Sarah

Comedian, and Ant & Dec’s Golden Buzzer act, Toju

Alternative dance act, Light Balance

Disc jockey, Allan-Turner Ward

Violinist, Lettice Rowbotham

Rappers, and Simon’s Golden Buzzer act, Bars & Melody

Britain’s Got Talent is on at 7:30pm and 9:30pm, with Britain’s Got More Talent at 10:00pm, every day this week (exc. Friday)

What did you think of tonight’s Britain’s Got Talent? Do you agree or disagree with my review or the judges? Feel free to comment below or tweet me about this or any other TV show – @UKTVReviewer

One thought on “‘Britain’s Got Talent’ 2014 – Semi-Final 3 Review

  1. I rarely drop comments, but i did some searching and wound up here Britains Got Talent 2014 –
    Semi-Final 3 Review | uktvreviewer. And I actually do have a couple
    of questions for you if it’s allright. Could it
    be just me or does it look as if like a few of the responses come across as if they are written by brain dead visitors?

    😛 And, if you are writing on other social sites, I’d like to follow anything new
    you have to post. Would you make a list of every one of
    all your public pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or
    linkedin profile?

Leave a Reply

