‘Britain’s Got Talent’ – Semi-Final 2 Review

Tonight’s Britain’s Got Talent Semi-Final delivered a fantastic line-up, with some of the most loved and remembered acts from the auditions performing in the hope of winning a place in the Final.

Martin & Marielle
Martin and Marielle were simply extraordinary – I felt dizzy just watching them. I do understand what Simon said about there being perhaps too many lifts, spins and throws in the routine and not enough actual dancing. Perhaps, as they’re a dance act, they should have had a bit more choreography in their routine, but they’re still hugely entertaining and pulled off a great performance.

MckNasty
I can imagine MckNasty being great in a nightclub – or perhaps even live in the studio – but to a viewer, sitting at home and watching BGT, it’s quite boring. Well that’s how I felt, anyway. I understand how he’s talented, but he’ll always be in his brother’s shadow. Whenever I saw MckNasty’s name in the papers or heard it on TV, I thought, Oh that’s Labrinth’s brother. He just doesn’t have an act which has the potential to do well in this show – that’s the problem. You never know, though, some singer might see him on the show and get him to play drums for them. His brother, perhaps…

Jack & Cormac
How cute, please? Irish teenagers Jack and Cormac are good musicians and I think that in a couple of years’ time they’ll be ready for a competition like this. They truly have great potential, and I loved Jack’s bemusement at Simon auditioning them for the new Ant & Dec!

Modupé Obasola
I completely agree with the judges. Modupé’s performance of ‘Beauty and the Beat’ (another Justin Bieber song!) tonight was disappointing. It was such a departure from the stripped-back acoustic style which made us warm to her in the first place. I admire her decision to try something new but, to me, Modupé’s performance was one which was typical of The X Factor – an opinion which was solidified by Simon Cowell himself when he dubbed it ‘generic and wannabe-ish’.

Meat Diva
Oh God. Meat Diva. Well it’s just a bit of fun, isn’t it? Matthew, one half of the group, said it would be epic and it certainly was. I’m just amazed that Simon didn’t buzz!

MD
MD are undoubtedly fantastic dancers but they weren’t unique enough. Just like Simon, I saw nothing in their routine which separated them from other dance troupes. Nothing will ever better Diversity, and I’m sure I’m not the only person who is getting a bit sick of dance groups now. I appreciate that they put a lot of work into the performance – and it was a slight improvement on their audition – but they did nothing to stand out from the crowd.

Alice Fredenham
Alice has brilliant stage presence to match her fabulous voice, and I bet that Simon is over the moon he managed to snatch her away from The Voice to shine on his own show. I didn’t even notice the apparent slip-up in her performance and I just hope that she begins to believe in herself, and realise that she is the huge talent which everyone else knows her to be. It’s such a shame that she’s out of the competition.

Jack Carroll
I thought his topical jokes were funny. I’m getting bored of the gags about his disability, though. It’s great that he’s fearless enough to poke fun at himself in such a way and be so self-deprecating, but I couldn’t shake off the feeling that I’d heard it all before. I feel that the judges go too far with their praise of him, too: Jack is good, but he’s currently neither the next Peter Kay nor the best comedian in the country, despite what David Walliams claims.

Gabz Gardiner
Gabz has amazing talent – as a singer, songwriter and pianist. I was a little disappointed that she sang the same song from her audition (despite how brilliant it is) but it didn’t matter in the end. She’s a star in the making and that self-penned song has the ability to rocket straight into the charts. I really hope she performs her own song in the Final.

This is the line-up for Thursday’s Semi-Final:

Freelusion
Joseph Hall
MC Boy
Robbie Kennedy
Pre Skool
Rosie O’Sullivan
Stevie Pink
Thomas Bounce
Luminites

Britain’s Got Talent is on at 7:30pm and 9:30pm, with Britain’s Got More Talent at 10:00pm, every day this week (exc. tomorrow)

What did you think of this week’s Britain’s Got Talent? Do you agree or disagree with my review or the judges? Feel free to comment below or tweet me about this or any other TV show – @UKTVReviewer

You can also see my recommendations for the coming week’s TV on this blog, published every Saturday at midnight.

I just want to take this opportunity to raise awareness for Alex Neal.

Alex is seventeen-years-old and a fellow student of mine at Sunderland College. She has a very rare bone tumour, called chondrosarcoma, which is growing around her brain and has already affected her eyesight and hormone levels, meaning she will have to rely on HRT for the rest of her life.

This tumour cannot be treated in the UK. Therefore, Alex must travel to Florida to have it treated there. The NHS have agreed to fund her visit – but only with one parent accompanying her.

£5,000 is needed to send both of Alex’s parents to Florida with her for this urgent treatment. At the time of writing, an incredible £1,476 has been raised but her family need more and have been campaigning by holding ‘Action 4 Alex’ car boot sales, cake sales and selling wristbands.

Any money would be greatly appreciated by Alex’s family. Even spreading the word and encouraging others to get involved would, I’m sure, be greatly appreciated.

You can join the ‘Action 4 Alex’ campaign on Facebook or go directly to her auntie’s Go Fund Me page to donate.

Thank you.

Leave a Reply

