‘Britain’s Got Talent’ 2013 – Week 2 Review

Everything seemed to be increased on this week’s Britain’s Got Talent. There was more of the talented, more of the talentless and more squabbles between the judges (although I’ll leave it up to you to decide on their authenticity).

My overall enjoyment of the show swelled, too – and it was all down to the following acts:

AJ & Chloe

This dancing duo really impressed the judges with their intricate choreography, excellently showcasing a wide range of dance styles.

I feel that they are one of those acts that, given the chance, will just get better and better. I hope to see them in the Semi-Finals with a more elaborate routine.

The Johnson Brothers

These were two Welsh sandwich makers, who apparently had not sang together in the two decades that they had been brothers and brought their excitable nan onto the stage, prompting her to express her love for Ant & Dec. I have to be honest, I wasn’t expecting too much.

How wrong I was. Delivering their rendition of ‘The Impossible Dream’, they proved themselves to be amazing singers who are perfect for Britain’s Got Talent and likely to have their debut album out in time for Christmas.*

*I’ve tried desperately to think of a sandwich pun as a name for The Johnson Brothers’ album. The closest I can think of is some sort of BLT/BGT amalgamation. Feel free to offer your own!

Jordan O’Keefe

This eighteen-year-old singer from Derry may have had a lovely voice and endearing back story but I could only think one thing when watching his audition: why didn’t he audition for The X Factor? He would have been so suited to that show! Who remembers Shaun Smith – the seventeen-year-old from the third series of BGT who sang ‘Aint No Sunshine’? Well, if you don’t, let me tell you that he was very good but it was a complete mystery why he thought he would do better on Britain’s Got Talent than he would on X Factor – where singers of his age and style do very well. Who knows, he might even have beaten Joe McElderry…

Anyway, I digress. What I’m saying is that I think the public are more likely to vote for an alternative act to win Britain’s Got Talent (Diversity, Spelbound, Ashley & Pudsey…) so Jordan may unfortunately get lost in a crowd variety.

Don’t get me wrong, he’s very good and I’m sure will have at least one song in the charts – even if it only reaches number 31 like series six’s Ryan O’Shaughnessy’s effort. And even if his career doesn’t take off then at least he achieved one thing by auditioning: he proved his meddling dad wrong.

Francine Lewis

I’m okay with impressions. I can manage a John Bishop, Paul McCartney, Granddad from Bread and probably a passable Jo Brand. Therefore, I’m in awe of people who have a whole range of voices in their arsenals and can accurately mimic a celebrity, having an audience in stitches at their hilarity. Francine Lewis is one of those people.

If you’ve read my review of Terry Mynott’s The Mimic, you’ll not only have gauged that I love an impersonation or two but I was really annoyed that his and Morgana Robinson’s series, Very Important People, was cruelly axed by Channel 4 after just one series. Francine Lewis popped up in a few of those VIP episodes and I loved her even then, when I only knew of her Katie Price and (rather unbelievable) Stacey Solomon.

You see, Francine is a rarity: she is someone who is not just very talented with impressions, but is also able to write brilliant material to accompany them. Most stars can either do one or the other (Jon Culshaw and Debra Stephenson didn’t write The Impressions Show, nor did Terry and Morgana pen VIP) so it’s refreshing to see someone who can do both so well.

Having said that, I wish impressionists would stop trying to mimic Holly Willoughby. She just doesn’t have a unique enough voice for it to be recognisable and well done. While Francine’s was probably the best I’ve heard, it still wasn’t totally accurate. However, this fades into insignificance as her other impressions were amazing and I really hope that, as with Paul Burling and Les Gibson (remember them?) in previous years, we will see an impressionist in the Britain’s Got Talent Final.

MC Boy

Oh my God. ‘I Need You Tonight’ (MC Boy’s self-penned song) isn’t exactly the new ‘Gangnam Style’ but it certainly is an infectious party tune! It’s quite difficult to believe that Simon Cowell – who previously managed Robson & Jerome and the Teletubbies – gave MC Boy a ‘No’. He doesn’t know what he’s missing!

To be honest, it’s quite difficult to express just how enjoyable this audition was. So I’ll let you see for yourself – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRYdHpQdOwc. Please do stick with it. I promise it gets better.

Britain’s Got Talent and Britain’s Got More Talent are on Saturday evenings on ITV and ITV2

What did you think of this week’s Britain’s Got Talent? Do you agree or disagree with my review? Feel free to comment below or tweet me about this or any other TV show – @UKTVReviewer

You can also see my recommendations for the coming week’s TV on this blog, published every Saturday at midnight.

Leave a Reply

