‘Strictly Come Dancing’ Launch Show

Now into its tenth run, Strictly returned to BBC1 last night, with what I believe to be the best line-up ever.

A CONFESSION

Before we get down to the Launch Show itself, I must make a confession of sorts. I have never willingly watched Strictly before. I know, I know! I mean, I think I watched one a couple of years ago when I stayed over at my nanna’s one night and, then a devout SCD fan, she insisted on us watching it. To be honest, I wasn’t wholly won over and that was my only foray into the world of Strictly.
In fact, last year I wanted to become a viewer but…well…I forgot about it. This year, however, I was fully determined so I set that series link, got back from work today and sat down to watch it – and I loved it!

STRICTLY CAMP DANCING

When I say that the show is over-the-top, theatrical and camp, I know die-hard Strictly fans will think, Well obviously! And of course I knew it would be somewhat camp but I couldn’t believe just how much so.
As well as the revelation about the show’s theatricality, I also discovered something else during this Launch Show: Sir Bruce is actually capable of telling a funny joke!

“Now you may see that there’s a new face on the panel…yes, Craig’s had some work done over the summer again.”

The new face Bruce was alluding to, of course, was Darcey Bussell, the newest addition to Strictly‘s ever-changing judging line-up – and a great one at that! It really is refreshing to see a talent show with judges who haven’t been booked for their celebrity status, but more for their knowledge in their field. That’s more than I can say for a certain other talent show I could mention…

So, to the Strictly Class of 2012. This year I think I know the most of any line-up I’ve ever seen on any other ‘celebrity talent show’…type…thingy. So, we’ll start with the female celebrities and their professional dancing partners:

Tracy Beaker and Dani’s House star Dani Harmer, with her dancing partner Vincent Simone

Presenter Denise Van Outen, with her dancing partner James Jordan

Author and TV personality Fern Britton, with her dancing partner Artem Chigvintsev

Former model Jerry Hall, with her dancing partner Anton Du Beke

Girls Aloud’s Kimberley Walsh, with her dancing partner Pasha Kovalev

Emmerdale and You’ve Been Framed! star Lisa Riley, with her dancing partner Robin Windsor

Olympic cyclist Victoria Pendleton, with her dancing partner Brendan Cole

There’s not one star there who I had never previously heard of, which is great! And now, we have the male celebrities and their professional dancing partners:

James Bond actor Colin Salmon, with his dancing partner Kristina Rihanoff

TV presenter – and father of previous Strictly finalist Zoe – Johnny Ball, with his dancing partner Aliona Vilam

Olympic gymnast Louis Smith, with his dancing partner Flavia Grace

Cricket captain Michael Vaughan, with his dancing partner Natalie Lowe

Westlife’s Nicky Byrne, with his dancing partner Karen Hauer

Daybreak‘s Showbiz Editor Richard Arnold, with his dancing partner Erin Boag

EastEnders‘s Sid Owen, with his dancing partner Ola Jordan

I have to say that I had never heard of Colin, nor Louis before watching last night’s Strictly but, hey, two out of seven ain’t bad, is it?

So, that’s it for a few weeks now – just as Strictly Fever has taken over the UK again, it is forced to die down as the celebs become acquainted with their professional partners and rehearse their first routine.
The show returns on Friday 5th October but until then, KEEEEEEEEP AWAY FROM X FACTOR!

Twitter – @UKTVReviewer

Also, keep up-to-date with the latest TV news, reviews and interviews at www.thecustardtv.com, where some of my articles will also appear.

Leave a Reply

